I'm a non-technical person running FreeBSD 13.2-STABLE on an ASUS Vivobook laptop. Up until recently I was able to watch YouTube videos, etc... with sound in Firefox. Today it has become apparent that sound no longer works from Firefox, and I tested it in Chomium too and it doesn't work there either. Obviously something has changed, but I don't know what. Mixer settings seem normal:
Code:
Mixer vol      is currently set to  61:61
Mixer pcm      is currently set to 100:100
Mixer speaker  is currently set to   0:0
Mixer mix      is currently set to  74:74
Mixer rec      is currently set to  37:37
Mixer igain    is currently set to   0:0
Mixer ogain    is currently set to 100:100
Mixer monitor  is currently set to  67:67
Recording source: monitor

So does output of cat /dev/sndstat:
Code:
Installed devices:
pcm0: <Realtek ALC897 (Analog 2.0+HP/2.0)> (play/rec) default
pcm1: <Intel Tiger Lake (HDMI/DP 8ch)> (play)
No devices installed from userspace.

I'm a total novice so I don't really know what else to check to diagnose the problem. Audio does seem to work in other applications, such as Telegram, which still makes notification sounds and plays video with audio. The last thing I was doing was trying to get Oracle VirtualBox to work, which I did, and I have a feeling I must have done something that messed this up but I can't imagine what. I work with women who insist on playing the radio all day, so regaining this functionality is crucial to my sanity.

When trying service sndiod restart I get:
sndiod does not exist in /etc/rc.d or the local startup directories (/usr/local/etc/rc.d), or is not executable