Where does glabel store the metadata?

I understand that the label is stored somewhere inside the disk, but where?

The handbook says:

FreeBSD handbook said:
glabel stores the label in the last sector of a given provider

but where exactly is that? Is this the MBR?

I admit I'm a newbie as to the topology of HDDs, so any information I get I'll have to research to understand the answer.

This question is for me to understand whether giving a label to an NTFS partition (USB portable HDD) can cause data corruption or reading problems when I connect it to a Windows OS.

In GEOM, the 'provider' is the disk (or partition, or whatever you ask glabel to label). So if you label a raw disk, it will go in the very last sector at the end of the disk. If you label a partition, it will go at the end of the partition, etc, etc.

I'm not a big fan of glabels generally. If you label an NTFS partition, it will go right at the end, which for the most part will probably remain untouched by Windows. Of course it's still part of the partition and there's nothing actually stopping Windows overwriting it if it wants to.

This question is for me to understand whether giving a label to an NTFS partition (USB portable HDD) can cause data corruption or reading problems when I connect it to a Windows OS.
Why not use GPT then? Windows understands it as does FreeBSD and it natively supports labels.

I'm not a big fan of glabels generally. If you label an NTFS partition, it will go right at the end, which for the most part will probably remain untouched by Windows. Of course it's still part of the partition and there's nothing actually stopping Windows overwriting it if it wants to.

On the FreeBSD side, this won't be a problem. The glabel(8) metadata is separate, and not part of the device. Use /dev/label/myntfsname and that device is one block smaller than the partition or disk it refers to.