Non bootable hard drive partitions

Hello. I have recently setup FreeBSD on virtual box for the first time and am now trying to install it to my laptop; I want to dual boot it with Windows 10. So, I boot into FreeBSD and go to select the empty partition I made for it only to see this:

3Wbd2Zn.png

I have had nothing but issues since EUFI booting became the standard with Windows 8. I'd rather not have to delete everything off my hard drive to get FreeBSD working if that's possible, but even if it isn't what do I need to do to prevent Windows from using a wonky partition scheme when I install it again? I'm new to FreeBSD, but got X and GNOME working for the first time the other day thanks to the great documentation.

I attached some screenshots of my bios settings if that helps.

Attachments

• photo_2017-05-19_16-47-53.jpg
    photo_2017-05-19_16-47-53.jpg
    83.6 KB · Views: 559
  • photo_2017-05-19_17-30-30.jpg
    photo_2017-05-19_17-30-30.jpg
    53.9 KB · Views: 513
Windows is a lot of hassle. Getting it to coexist peacefully with FreeBSD on the same hard drive is a lot of work, and possible some pain.
Do you *need* Windows? If the answer is yes, do you have another machine that you can run FreeBSD on?
(if you are lucky enough that you laptop have space for two storage devices inside you could install FreeBSD on another hard drive or SSD)

The FreeBSD installer has the ability to boot in both UEFI mode and legacy/BIOS/CSM mode. The UEFI spec, however, mandates the use of a GPT-partitioned disk. You have an old-style, MBR-partitioned disk; so the installer offers to correct this.