Solved Refugee from Linux, now 2 kernel panics in 2 days

Dear FreeBSD forums,

Hi! New BSD user here (only 2 days "old"). I've been looking forward to trying out BSD for a long time and decided to try FreeBSD first. After installing FreeBSD 11 on my new Lenovo laptop, I am brutally disappointed to get 2 kernel panics in my first 2 days. I don't even have a working desktop environment yet; I'm still just compiling Xorg and XFCE using ports.

Is there a kernel hacker 'round here who would like to see my core dumps?

Both panics happened while running "make install" - I believe while running clang. The message should have been something like "page not available when in supervisor mode". I think it also said "trap 12".

AMD64, newest kernel build from the FreeBSD download site, I used the memstick ISO image. EFI boot is turned off in the laptop firmware (legacy BIOS mode).

Please tell me this isn't normal for FreeBSD!

Thanks
Alex

Hi Alex, I am also new to FreeBSD, even though I have installed it a few times already. One question: why are you compiling Xorg? For a first installation I would use pre-compiled packages.

Anyway, apart from minor glitches, FreeBSD works great on my desktop. I just followed the handbook for the basic installation, and then this guide for the desktop environment.

In my experience, panics during compilation or other CPU heavy tasks are an indication of hardware problems.
I've had 2 machines in that past which would panic consistently during a kernel build, that otherwise even passed memtest86. Replacing the RAM solved that issue, but it certainly wasn't obvious.

Thanks for the replies. I have swapped in a compatible DIMM as suggested by leebrown and am seeing if that will change things. As a bonus, the laptop seems noticeably faster! Thanks also to drhoward, and I will try not to stomp on too many toes in my next post (if there is one).