Owncloud in FreeBSD Jail

I'm considering setting up Owncloud on my FreeBSD 10.3 server in a jail, but I'm wondering about being able to connect to files outside the jail. I have a pretty sizeable file collection (photos, docs, etc.) on the server now (not jailed) that I will want to connect to from Owncloud inside the jail.

Does anyone have any experience with doing this? Will it be an issue?

Thanks!

scewing, use nullfs(5) to make directories outside of the jail accessible from inside the jail.

This example makes /turkey accessible read-write from inside of the jail located in /jails/doorknob:

/etc/jail.conf:
Code:
exec.start = "/bin/sh /etc/rc";
exec.stop  = "/bin/sh /etc/rc.shutdown";
exec.clean;
mount.devfs;

doorknob {
    path = /jails/doorknob;
    host.hostname = doorknob;
    ip4.addr = 192.168.16.4;
    interface = igb1;
    mount = "/turkey /jails/doorknob/turkey nullfs rw 0 0";
}

PS. I've never used OwnCloud before, but my guess is that it'd work fine with a configuration similar to what's above.

Awesome! Thanks a million. I've got almost zero experience with jails. Looks like that's going to change now.
Thanks again!

I was not using www/owncloud since years and so I cannot comment on it. When I decided to install it again, it was just at the announcement the fork. o_O

The fork (IIRC) supposedly was due to the lack of interest of the people leading the project to deal with the needs/desires of the community (owncloud.org), but just with the enterprise clients (owncloud.com) - also there was some kind of business deal to happens with ownCloud what I do not remember what it was. Apparently, they were not caring to create/fix anything unless it was a request from an enterprise client.

That said, many ownCloud devs leaved the project and joined the www/nextcloud, and so I suppose it is being developed faster and more "healthy". At least it seems to be.