Network issues on newly installed system

Hi all, first-time poster and freebsd noob here, just installed my first system and am having some difficulties.

When booting up the network is not automatically enabled. In fact the network interface seems to be down with ifconfig showing status: no carrier. By manually doing ifconfig ix0 up it is enabled and then dhclient ix0 will give me access to the network. How can I set it up so that I don't have to do this across reboots?

The next issue is that name resolving doesn't work. I added both my router which supports name lookups to /etc/resolv.conf and also verified that it can do name lookups by issuing drill google.com @192.168.1.1, but trying to run ping google.com will result in 'ping: cannot resolve google.com: Host name lookup failure'

Thanks for any help!

First: Read the documentation. Unlike some other OSes, FreeBSD has excellent documentation, which is centralized in the handbook. There is a handbook chapter on network configuration, and one one DHCP. Just look around the web for "FreeBSD handbook", find the copy that matches the version you have installed, and start reading. Most likely, after that your problem will go away.

If it doesn't: What does your /etc/rc.conf look like? More accurately, what are the network-related lines in there? I'm not going to post the ones from my machine at home (it doesn't use DHCP, but has a static address), but there needs to be a line there that looks roughly like ifconfig_ix0="DHCP". Next problem, your DNS: Editing /etc/resolv.conf by hand before running DHCP is silly, since the DHCP client typically overwrites that file. In theory, your DHCP server should have told you who your DNS server is, which should have been recorded automatically in /etc/resolv.conf.