Hello all,

This is my first time posting here, so sorry if I'm not doing this right. I've installed FreeBSD 14.0-RELEASE on an Asus Viviobook S laptop with an Intel i7-12700H CPU (uses an Alder Lake-P iGPU). So far I've run into some major issues getting the iGPU to work.

Specifically, I just cannot get my GPU to work with DRM (i915kms). I've tried multiple versions, from the standard "drm-kmod" package as well as 510 and 515. In the case of 510, DRM does not even latch onto the GPU, and "dmesg | grep drm" returns nothing.. In the case of drm-kmod and version 515, the system locks up at "Loading kernel modules" during the multi-user boot process, with no trace of a crash or logs of any kind. Of course without a working graphics driver, X doesn't work.

In addition, repeat kernel panics have occurred, specifically since installing DRM. It's always a page fault. I've attached two images of two different kernel panics that have occurred.

So far, I have tried the following, which have produced the following results:
Changing kld_list='i915kms' to kld_list='/boot/modules/i915kms'
Same result, a lock up at "Loading kernel modules". From what I can tell, 'i915kms' just points to '/boot/modules/i915kms' anyways, since there's no i915kms modules in the /boot/kernel folder.

Removing all the Alder Lake specific firmware from the /boot/modules directory
In this case, the system will boot with 515 and drm-kmod, however DRM of course complains about the missing firmware, but still seems to initialize the GPU. However, X refuses to work in this case, with the error "failed to create screen resources". Looking at the xorg.0.log file, it seems the error leading to this is the DRM driver complaining that the "size of buffer object does not match constraints". I spent a lot, lot of time trying to get X to work with this, because DRM seemed to be mostly working, however no matter how I configured it I just could not get it to start.