HA DNS, Mail, Storage

Greetings everybody,

I am no freebsd expert. I have linux and freebsd experience.

I would like to setup a HA mail, dns and storage server for SOHO environment. So, there will be just 2 small servers with few spin disks and ethernet nics.

Regarding storage there is HAST and uCARP: https://wiki.freebsd.org/HAST (I assume this howto is working just fine, never tried before).
On production lots of vdev mirrors rule as far as I already read here in the forum. BTW: Thank you for sharing experience :)
So, storage should be no big deal.

DNS - well, I have already setup a single bind server using freebsd. Do you agree with me that there is no real "HA DNS best practice", because you just simply setup 2 DNS servers and give the IPs of both dns servers to the client, right?

Mail - well, once upon a time, I have setup a MTA with web-ui server on linux. I tried to install squirrelmail, but I failed. So, I used another web-ui based stuff. Anyways, I have already found some usefull links like this one or that one, but regarding HA mail setups I have to admit: I have no idea about that. Actually, I did not find useful information regarding that topic. Is there any concept of running HA MTA?

I would like to ask you about your experience regarding HA MTA, too.

Regarding storage there is HAST and uCARP: https://wiki.freebsd.org/HAST (I assume this howto is working just fine, never tried before).
Never heard of this before. I'd be curious to hear about your experience if you implement it.
DNS - well, I have already setup a single bind server using freebsd. Do you agree with me that there is no real "HA DNS best practice", because you just simply setup 2 DNS servers and give the IPs of both dns servers to the client, right?