Global ports configuration in make.conf in 2023

Hello there everyone! Sorry if this thread is a duplicate or violates the rules in any way, I researched as well as I could before posting.

I realize that the FreeBSD way of ports configuration is by means of an Ncurses option selection menu for each package, however I do prefer as much as possible to streamline and generalize my configs, as for example if I never plan on using Dbus for anything but want all ports that support it to be compiled with png support, I think it's logical to specify them globally. I've been using Gentoo as my go to for the last 10 years and although I believe I understand the FreeBSD way, I'd love to configure my ports using one centralized make.conf file to the largest extent possible.

I came across this forum post https://forums.freebsd.org/threads/how-to-manage-options-easily-and-globally.54508/ which 8 years ago discussed what I'm getting at. It mentioned this file from the FreeBSD source code https://cgit.freebsd.org/ports/tree/Mk/bsd.options.desc.mk which lists and describes all possible ports' options you could use under make.conf. I would love to clarify a few things.

1. I've seen in the above mentioned thread and in some other places online, that there are a few keywords that are used for what I'm describing, and they are OPTIONNAME_USE and OPTIONNAME_UNUSE, but also OPTIONNAME_WANT and OPTIONNAME_UNWANT, and PORTNAME_OPTIONNAME_SET and PORTNAME_OPTIONNAME_UNSET. I suppose the last two are used for per-port configuration. What are the differences between the other two?