• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Solved ctl fibre channel LUNs not seen by qlogic bios

Snail

New Member

Thanks: 2
Messages: 5

#1
Hello,

I configured CTL to provide fibre channel LUNS to other computers.
Everything works perfectly : the LUNS are accessible to the initiators, they can be partitioned, formatted etc.

But there is one exception. In the qlogic bios of the initiators, hitting enter at "Scan Fibre Devices" hangs on "Checking Loop ID 0" for 30s, then shows "No device present".

At the same time, the /var/log/messages file of the target reads this:

Code:
Jun 12 15:33:46 tserver kernel: isp0: Chan 0 PLOGX Logout PortID 0x500500 nphdl 0x1
Jun 12 15:33:46 tserver kernel: isp0: CTIO returned by f/w- Port Logout
Jun 12 15:33:46 tserver kernel: isp0: isp_handle_platform_ctio: CTIO7[119434] seq 0 nc 1 sts 0x29 flg 0x8002 sns 0 resid 0 FIN
And 30s later :
Code:
Jun 12 15:34:57 tserver kernel: isp0: Chan 0 WWPN 0x2100001b32883921 PortID 0x500500 handle 0x1 cannot be found to be deleted
Here are some information that might be relevant :
  • The tested versions of FreeBSD were 11.0, 11.0 p10, and 11.1 BETA1.
  • I tried Freenas 11, and it worked sometimes.
  • I tried targetcli-fb on gentoo and it worked fine.
Sysctl informations:
Code:
#sysctl dev.isp.0
dev.isp.0.topo: 3
dev.isp.0.loopstate: 10
dev.isp.0.fwstate: 3
dev.isp.0.linkstate: 1
dev.isp.0.speed: 4
dev.isp.0.role: 1
dev.isp.0.gone_device_time: 30
dev.isp.0.loop_down_limit: 60
dev.isp.0.wwpn: 2377900720055839877
dev.isp.0.wwnn: 2377900720055839877
dev.isp.0.%parent: pci2
dev.isp.0.%pnpinfo: vendor=0x1077 device=0x2432 subvendor=0x1077 subdevice=0x0138 class=0x0c0400
dev.isp.0.%location: slot=0 function=0 dbsf=pci0:2:0:0
dev.isp.0.%driver: isp
dev.isp.0.%desc: Qlogic ISP 2432 PCI FC-AL Adapter
ctladm ports :
Code:
# ctladm port -l
Port Online Frontend Name     pp vp
0    NO     camsim   camsim   0  0  naa.5000000a3f888301
1    YES    ioctl    ioctl    0  0  
2    YES    tpc      tpc      0  0  
3    YES    camtgt   isp0     0  0  naa.2100001b3212ec85
Did someone already face this problem or have any idea?
Thank you
 

fraveydank

New Member

Thanks: 2
Messages: 3

#3
Oh good heavens, this has been plaguing me for years now. All my machines with Qlogic HBAs worked OK (sometimes) when connected directly to my FreeNAS host, but barfed with timeouts whenever scanning through my switch (Brocade 5000). I finally buckled down today to trace the FC transactions to figure out why when I found this message... looks like they've backported it to the 11.1 kernel in FreeNAS 11.1, at least if their Git repo is accurate, so I finally have a real reason to upgrade from 9.10.x. Here's hoping I can finally run my Alpha and SPARC machines from SAN, and boot my ESXi machine through the switch! Will report back when the upgrade completes and I've had a chance to check it out.
 

fraveydank

New Member

Thanks: 2
Messages: 3

#5
Alas, Solaris is still a little borked; it enumerates the devices fine, but when it comes to actual port logins, it times out. I can produce some details later when I've got some time, but for now, I'm super happy it's working for VMWare.
 

Snail

New Member

Thanks: 2
Messages: 5

#6
Hello,

Unfortunately, that won't be of any help but I have the same problem with solaris or openindiana x86_64.
I wanted to boot it on san but it never worked.

Let's hope someone will come with a solution.
 

Endersending

New Member


Messages: 1

#7
Same problem. I have a bunch of 4gb qlogic cards and a silkworm switch. I would love to see this rolled into the next release