Other Confusing documentation

Having read, and re-read Chapter 31. Firewalls, I'm hugely disappointed in the lack of clear direction offered by the author. As a reference, it's not horrible, but for someone looking to turn on the firewall so their workstation or server is relatively safe, it's not good. I'm not a new user and I'm not an expert. I use FreeBSD behind a secure router in my home network, as a server for my git repo (dell workstation) and as a laptop (lenovo t430). I've toyed with turning on the firewall, off and on, over the years and every time, I have found it a frustrating experience.
If I had hopes for the handbook, they were quickly dashed. The handbook tells us right off that there are three firewalls included with FreeBSD and then gives absolutely no direction as to which one to use for what purpose. Then it tells how to configure a basic PF ruleset for a machine with no services that needs access to one network. OK, after a bit of struggle, the example makes some sense, but what about allowing ssh? That seems pretty important... Lots and lots of discussion about gateways, proxies, ICMP, MTU, tables and so on, though. Maybe the section on IPFW would be better? No, a tiny bit about rc.conf and then jump into rulesets, in-kernel NAT, port and address redirection and so on.

What I eventually found on the venerable internet was this:
sudo -s

sysrc firewall_enable="YES"
sysrc firewall_type="workstation"
sysrc firewall_myservices="22 / tcp 80 / tcp 443 / tcp"
sysrc firewall_allowservices="any"
sysrc firewall_quiet="YES"
sysrc firewall_logdeny="YES"

service ipfw start