Hey y'all,

I'm new to BSD and have just installed FreeBSD and KDE Plasma on my Dell Latitude E5420.

My wifi is not working, but LAN is. I've read that my wifi card is not supported by FreeBSD (Broadcom) but that it could possible to create the drivers myself using XP drivers and ndisscvt. I got the .inf and .sys file of the device driver and I've read the manual but I feel like I am not any smarter after that. Can someone please guide me through and explain it to me as I were five?

Thanks in advance.

Device Info

Model: Dell Latitude E5420 (refurbished)

Wifi card in question: Dell DW 1530 802.11n 1JKGC BCM43228 WiFi MiniPCI Express Dualband, and it also shows up as BCM43228.

As I said, I have Windows drivers for this device. LAN works and is listed as bge0, and I think my wifi is listed as bge0:none. At least I think that is my wifi.

Once again: Thanks in advance!

I've read that my wifi card is not supported by FreeBSD (Broadcom) that it could possible to create the drivers myself using XP drivers and ndisscvt. I got the .inf and .sys file of the device driver and I've read the manual but I feel like I am not any smarter after that. Can someone please guide me through and explain it to me as I were five?
Yeah, ndisgen(8), honestly, not worth the trouble. Pick up a cheap USB wireless dongle you know is supported.

Yeah, ndisgen(8), honestly, not worth the trouble. Pick up a cheap USB wireless dongle you know is supported.