Freeze boot FreeBSD 13.0

I've been using FreeBSD on a virtual machine for a while now, for the reason that I'm a noob, in case it breaks something.

Well I have decided to use FreeBSD as the base system, but my problem is that it is impossible for me to boot FreeBSD. I followed the steps in the manual, I got the specific image for USB stick, check the integrity of the image with shasum(1) and it's fine.

I have created the partitioning system with gpart, I have tried it with MBR, EFI, GPT and I don't think this is the problem, I don't know if I'm wrong.

Then I have formatted it, and I have burned the FreeBSD image with dd as the handbook says. I can only get to the beginning when the boot beastie wizard appears, but when I want to start the boot, it does not start the kernel, it is frozen in "Loading Kernel".

My machine is a Dell LATITUDE E6500 BIOS ver: A18

Regards.

Last edited by a moderator:
I managed to get it started by chance, I can't understand what may be causing the problem. When I let the counter go to zero and auto start on when it freezes, or when I hit enter to skip the counter.

But if I switch to boot options, and boot if it works. You can see it in the video. It is not a coincidence I tried it many times, what could be causing this problem?

Also as you can see the usb led stops working, indicating its inactivity.

View: https://youtu.be/Adu2chRetXw

Regards.

For any other key to stop: at 0:16, which key do you choose?

Is the blackout at 0:33 in response to a manual reset by you?

Is the issue reproducible with the same stick plugged into a separate internal controller? (I can't tell whether you have more than one.)

Gut feeling: probably a bug, and probably reported although it might be difficult to find a matching bug.

If no matching bug, maybe follow what's below.

image for USB stick

Get a second stick of a different type.

On each stick, have just one partition (as large as possible), give it to UFS then test with StressDisk