ZFS ZFS Jails Backup Strategy

Hello there,
Im new to FreeBSD, but quite experienced in Linux,
Currently I have CentOS7 virtual machines that runs on KVM. I want to move some of them to FreeBSD/Jails, however Im not clear about the backup strategy that I should run once in jails.

Some of my motivations to move from Linux to FreeBSD are jails, ZFS with lz4, and the way one can manage a FreeBSD.

My Linux vms have incremental and full data backups and periodically the vms can be moved to a remote storage or another server if needed. Im not sure how to achieve the movement of the jail to another host or to backup the full jail.

Thanks in advance for your answers

Martin

You can use all the generic backup tools you are used to. Tar and gzip and rsync work just fine if you are used to those. But ...

ZFS has the major advantage that you can make snapshots of a filesystem at a specific time. So, to make a nice clean backup you can:
  1. shutdown all the services (especially databases) briefly to ensure data is flushed to disk and files are stable.
  2. create a zfs snapshot.
  3. restart all the services. Thus a downtime of well under a minute is achieved.
  4. run your backup tools on the snapshot.
  5. remove the snapshot or keep a small set of snapshots you can use to restore files locally and quickly.
On the backup tools, you can take advantage of another feature in ZFS. ZFS has built in tools to send and receive a ZFS filesystem (possibly I should say dataset, I've not quite figured out the right terminology) over a network connect and write it to another zfs filesystem.

There are lots of examples of zfs send and zfs recv commands in these forums. I leave finding them up to you.

Thanks for the reply ekingston,
- Does these snapshot counts as a backup?
- If needed, can I move this snapshot to another host?

Thanks for the lights, I will look for zfs and zfs recv

Martin

Thanks for the reply ekingston,
- Does these snapshot counts as a backup?