What is your favorite text editor?

I use vi/vim, because when I was a baby sysadmin, my mentor said "you can use whatever editor you want, but at the end of the day, when you are trying to recover a machine, and world is on fire, emacs is not going to be available....So at least be familiar with vi."

I tried to use emacs on Debian the other day and discovered how great FreeBSD is. For me, to be able to use emacs, I need to have my own personal keybindings, otherwise I'm completely lost. To my shock I discovered I couldn't use my key bindings on Debian because some of the binding definitions only apply to emacs 29.1 and that version isn't yet available on Debian.
And I was under the impression that Debian was the standard by which other Linux distros were to be judged.

• Thanks
Reactions: dnb
I tried to use emacs on Debian the other day and discovered how great FreeBSD is. For me, to be able to use emacs, I need to have my own personal keybindings, otherwise I'm completely lost. To my shock I discovered I couldn't use my key bindings on Debian because some of the binding definitions only apply to emacs 29.1 and that version isn't yet available on Debian.
It is important to prepare Emacs yourself. You can make it significantly faster by compiling it correctly by hand (even on FreeBSD, not from ports, but using configure and gmake).

I read this book and now I am completely happy with vi(1) from the base system. I use it together with the terminal multiplexer sysutils/tmux. This setup works perfectly for coding and type-setting, which is what I mainly do with my system. My custom “dot-files” are fairly minimal, since I want to be able to be productive also on pristine systems.

It is important to prepare Emacs yourself. You can make it significantly faster by compiling it correctly by hand (even on FreeBSD, not from ports, but using configure and gmake).