Solved Suggestions for sound-enhanced experience

Hello Team!

There has been a while since I was active and I am back in a little of an emergency. On my laptop running FreeBSD I have had some mixed experiences with the sound. There is no troubles with the driver or system settings (as far as I know) but somehow it seems that the sound quality is lacking depending on how I install packages. It is most likely a matter of settings but it may be something more.

So to the most important thing: Is there any software or settings I can check in specific to make my headphone unit play sound at its highest quality?

I managed to get the maximum quality for some weeks ago but then I made an unthoughtful reset and is back with a worse sound experience without any specific support for either bass or depths and levels of the music. (The sound is very canny.)

This is, as stated above, the most important thing about the issue, the rest is a short briefing on what I did and a part of my own troubleshooting.

Ps. This is not hardware related.
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Then: I know this may seem bulky and it's because the best sound was obtained through the randomised process of installing some parts of Firefox through ports (got aborted since temporarily broken) and after that installing the package on top = nice sound, somehow.

Now: Reinstalled packages on my system with ports-mgmt/pkg, didn't do the same process (because didn't check specifically what was built from ports) = canny sound, no rich sound, sad man.

Thoughts so far:

1. Could be related to package configurations but at current state there is no big diffence between ports version or pkg version
2. Codec dependent? Ex. when played with mps-youtube it's a tad better than with browser
3. Some deeper programming related and that the sound was better through pure luck only?