Ping sento no route to host

Hello,
I'm fairly new to FreeBSD and I recently installed it (10.3) on my computer. The installation went well and after I rebooted I tried to ping google and was greeted by this: "ping: sendto: No route to host" I looked for a solution but I could not find one, any help will be greatly appreciated.

This is usually a route problem. Type netstat -rn and look if there is any default route. Also, check if your /etc/resolv.conf is pointing to the correct DNS.

Would the default route look like an IPv6 address?

Only if you have an IPv6-only network. There's essentially 3 scenarios: IPv4-only, IPv4 and IPv6 (dual stack), and IPv6-only. You need default routes for both, if both are enabled on your network (and both have Internet connectivity).

It might help if you let us see your /etc/rc.conf, to give us a better understanding of your configuration. You can make any names/addresses anonymous if you want to, just please do it consistently, e.g. if the real addresses for the system and router were 192.0.2.45 and 192.0.2.1, change them to xxx.0.2.45 and xxx.0.2.1. Keep things like netmask unchanged.

Please give a brief summary of your network/Internet connection. I.e. which of v4 and v6 are available, and how the FreeBSD system is connected towards the Internet.

It looks like you do have some connectivity, assuming you were doing something like ping www.google.com, and not using a raw address like ping 8.8.8.8, as your system apparently managed to resolve the address from the name. If you had no connectivity, or a problem with DNS resolution, you would see some other error, possibly the following:
Code:
# ping unknown.example.org
ping: cannot resolve unknown.example.org: Unknown host