PF PF not allowing IPv6 traffic

Hello,

I'm new to FreeBSD and loving it. The only thing I'm really struggling with is getting a good pf.conf.

Here's my attempt. Sadly I can't get it to allow IPv6 traffic. Can anyone help me with what I'm doing wrong?

Code:
vtnet0 = "vtnet0"
set skip on { lo0 lo1 }

# basic hardening
scrub in all fragment reassemble max-mss 1440
antispoof quick for $vtnet0

# block everything by default
block all

# only allow in 80, 443, and 34020 (for ssh)
#  allow this on IPv4
pass in inet proto { tcp udp } to port { https, http, 34020 }
#  and IPv6
pass in inet6 proto { tcp udp } to port { https, http, 34020 }

# only allow the server to connect out to these ports
pass out proto { tcp udp } to port { 22 53 80 123 443 465 27017 }

IPv4 works but I can't get the fireawall to allow traffic directed at the IPv6 address. I can ssh into my server at user@IP_4_ADDRESS but it doesn't allow any traffic when ssh'ing into user@IP_6_ADDRESS.

I love FreeBSD but PF has been a bit too powerful and overwhelming for me. I wish there were some clear examples out there for best practices for a web-server firewall. I'm afraid of leaving big security holes when I'm struggling so much to understand a basic pf.conf. Any help with a full working example pf.conf would be really appreciated.

Very strangely, when I restart the firewall with sudo pfctl -d and then sudo pfctl -e, the firewall allows IPv6 traffic for about 30 seconds with the firewall freshly running, and then it drops it again.

Ok, I found this on serverfault.com that mentioned the need to unblock ICMP6 router solicitation and adding this fixes it.

Code:
pass proto icmp
pass proto ipv6-icmp