Solved need help with advanced programming in the unix environment

If anyone has experience going through this book it would be great. I am starting the book and downloaded the source files. I am new to freebsd and am stuck with how to use these and follow along with the book. I was told to use the make command on the files but I am not familiar with how it actually works. I tried to read some things on the internet but I am still confused. Do I go to the main directory with all these files and just type gmake? Do I need to gmake a specific file? Any help would be great.

thanks.

It seems to me that just typing gmake in the root directory of extracted archive should be enough. It will run first target in the Makefile which is all -> equivalent to typing gmake all.

It seems to me that just typing gmake in the root directory of extracted archive should be enough. It will run first target in the Makefile which is all -> equivalent to typing gmake all.
Code:
Undefined symbols for architecture x86_64:

"_err_quit", referenced from:

_main in lsnew-b101a1.o

"_err_sys", referenced from:

_main in lsnew-b101a1.o

ld: symbol(s) not found for architecture x86_64

clang: error: linker command failed with exit code 1 (use -v to see invocation)
/CODE]

I did make in the ape.3e directory after extracting but when I try to compile the first example in the book with cc I still get this error.

Code:
#include "apue.h"

#include <dirent.h>

int

main(int argc, char *argv[])

{

DIR                *dp;

struct dirent    *dirp;

if (argc != 2)

err_quit("usage: ls directory_name");

if ((dp = opendir(argv[1])) == NULL)

err_sys("can't open %s", argv[1]);

while ((dirp = readdir(dp)) != NULL)

printf("%s\n", dirp->d_name);

closedir(dp);

exit(0);

}

thats the first example.[/CODE]