FreeBSD GCC installation (urgent help required)

Hello, I am new to the forum I need help as I am given an assignment to install GCC compiler in FreeBSD 9.1. Help will be appreciated. I am a beginner so I don't know much technical terms.

What I need to be answered:
- How to install GCC in FreeBSD 9.1 (just basic installation commands)
I have already created the vmware machine for FreeBSD but I can't install GCC compiler in it.

Any version of FreeBSD older than version 10 comes with GCC 4.2 as part of the main OS installation; if that works for your project, there would be nothing else to install.

its for the institute , we need to install the freebsd and then install gcc , and start coding in it , they have freebsd9.1 version so we are using it.

As SirDice has suggested, your best approach is to download a current version of
FreeBSD, and install it. For your learning purposes, I'd suggest installing it on a clean disk rather than VMWare. A 160gb disk is big enough for this.

All of the directions for installing and configuring FreeBSD are in the Handbook.
Gcc can be installed with pkg or built in /usr/ports(). Versions available on my recent 10.2 /usr/ports are:
Code:
lang/gcc
lang/gcc-aux
lang/gcc-ecj45
lang/gcc46
lang/gcc47
lang/gcc48
lang/gcc49
lang/gcc5
lang/gcc5-aux
lang/gcc5-devel
lang/gcc6-aux
lang/gcc6-devel
If you are familiar with general Unix or Linux administration from the command line,
FreeBSD is "just another Unix." If not, you will have to learn basic Unix adminstration skills before you can use FreeBSD to develop programs.

its for the institute , we need to install the freebsd and then install gcc , and start coding in it , they have freebsd9.1 version so we are using it.
I don't know which institute you mean. A school will normally provide some type of instructions. A business will assume you already know the basics.