Excessive heat on Lenovo Thinkpad E450 even with CPU @ 100% idle

Hello everyone,

I am new to FreeBSD and this is my first post.

I filed PR 271938 to technically follow through the issue mentioned in the title. But posting here for visibility, suggestions, ideas and experience. My Lenovo Thinkpad E450 generates excessive heat even without any CPU usage (~100% idle), with the clock speeds stepped all the way down. The heat is persistent, right after booting into the live DVD, after installation and even after booting into the freshly installed system, from a complete state of cool down and rest.

The issue seems to be OS (FreeBSD) dependent. Note: No I am not complaining, I just want to over come this issue and be able to use FreeBSD as my daily driver. As posted in the PR, I have tried everything suggested by the good folks at #freebsd IRC.

My thoughts:
  1. May be the CPU usage is measured improperly?
  2. May be it is the GPU that's causing the issue and the heat gets transferred to the CPU? The GPU isn't enabled though, I don't think its visible in sysinfo and I haven't installed the specific drivers. I don't know, I am just textually thinking loud.
Is there more i could do to check, test and may be solve this issue? I can't really figure out what's causing the issue. Please share your thoughts and ideas and help me figure out/ sort this issue.

Thank you.

Not sure what sysinfo is, but try running pciconf -lv, and check that it does not show up in there.
pciconf -lv shows my AMD GPU

Code:
vgapci1@pci0:5:0:0:     class=0x038000 rev=0x00 hdr=0x00 vendor=0x1002 device=0x6900 subvendor=0x17aa subdevice=0x5021                                    
vendor     = 'Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]'                                                                                                  
device     = 'Topaz XT [Radeon R7 M260/M265 / M340/M360 / M440/M445 / 530/535 / 620/625 Mobile]'

Does this mean, may be there is a chance of heating from GPU?