Command-Line Manual Installation How-To (With Video If Needed)

Good afternoon everyone:

This is a continuation of my Reddit thread and YouTube video detailing how to install FreeBSD for a very basic desktop using the command line as found on the installer disk exclusively. I have three main reasons for doing this, as stated on the thread:

Firstly, yes, the automatic installer for FreeBSD is pretty great. Better than any Linux one I've seen. And though I am no expert, I had three goals making this.

1: To help you better learn how to use a lot of tools for customizing FreeBSD. ZFS is the big one. ZFS can be configured six ways to Sunday and be used to provide a lot of configuration and compartmentalization you may not see or do if you do it on the installer. (This guide keeps it very simple, and admins and security pros may cringe going through it, so please remember this is for a bare-bones desktop system. Nothing more. Feel free to customize further if you know how.)

2: You can get to really control what your system looks like. It's the same kind of appeal of building your own car or computer: You know everything that went into it and when. You make all your own decisions about the software as well as the hardware. Yes, the OS has certain demands for how it's laid out, but you can add all kinds of components manually this way.

3: And I found Linux's usually had a way to do this and guides and stuff, but I couldn't find a similar guide for FreeBSD. And that was a shame because it's just as capable. So I decided to close the gap.

Booting and Partitioning
  1. Boot to the live installer.
  2. On the menu, instead of choosing “Installer,” choose “Shell”.
  3. List the available disks.
    1. sysctl kern.disks
  4. FreeBSD uses a system called “geom” to manage its disks. We will use separate tools to install with this, specially geom partition, or ‘gpart’. For the purpose of this instruction guide, we will assume the disk is called ada0.