Shell c shell help needed.

Hi, I am working on writing a c shell script. It's this the 3rd script I would be writing. I am fairly new to c shell but not new to programming.

I need help to figure out how to use regular expressions in c shell. I am used to doing it in C++ and PHP. /.+[a-z]/ etc I need to know how it would work in c shell.

I know .+ means 1 or more matches of any character. I want to know if this is possible in c shell and is it the same as used in PHP / perl etc.

I need to grab an ip out of a file. The file will contain 2 ip addresses ip1 < ip2 :timestamps:
I want to grab ip2 and need to match < cuz the ip after this and is what I need to grab. However, don't want to grab the character <. I want to exclude it from returning with the matches made.

A: Using (t)csh for programming is generally considered a bad idea. Whether it is appropriate as an interactive shell is a question of some debate, for for scripts, the various sh and Korn derived shells are a better idea.

B: Why is this a shell question? Why don't you just use any of the standard utilities, like sed and awk? With a little bit of reading of the sed manual, I'm sure you can come up with a sed expression that takes "ip < ip2 :timestamps" and throws away everything after the ">" and before the ":". It's even easier in awk: Run the data into awk, perhaps changing the IFS (input field separator) to include ">" and ":", and then pick out the correct columns.

Using the shell itself to do heavy lifting is a very difficult way to make progress. Use appropriate small tools. Here is something I just hacked up in sed:
Code:
# echo "ip1 < ip2 :timestamps" | sed "s/.* < \(.*\) :.*/\1/"
ip2