Audiophile options for a HQ external USB DAC

Guys, I'm quite new to the FreeBSD world but amazed so far. Please, out of curiosity, you guys who use USB DACs could you share ideas and/or sysctl.conf how to tweak the audio system for highest possible quality. Things regarding bitperfect and such. Thank you!

This is all I currently got:

Code:
# Sound
hw.snd.verbose=2
hw.snd.default_unit=6
hw.snd.feeder_rate_quality=3
dev.pcm.6.play.vchanformat=s32le:2.0

I have:

hw.snd.feeder_rate_quality=4
##To reduce number of sound generated interrupts
hw.snd.latency=7

See also man.sound (the manpage for sound). Lots of useful information

The plain and simple, also ugly truth is that you don't need an USB DAC normally, because the DACs which are put on mainboards are more than capable of doing their job nowadays.

Only reasons where it is desireable to get one is this:

1. if the audio coming from mainboard is pestered with hisses and interferences, which you cannot get rid of.
2. if you have got a high impedance set of headphones, like 600 Ohms, while your audio output only can handle let's say 32, which means that volume becomes a problem. Which is not a DAC issue anyway strictly, but of amplification.

It's way more effective to invest the money, which you would use for a DAC for, into your headphones.

It's way more effective to invest the money, which you would use for a DAC for, into your headphones.
Luckily/unfortunately I got both: HQ higher impedance (>= 250-300 Ohm) headphones, so using the USB DAC with integrated amplifier. Currently Fulla Shiit 3 DAC. But I agree that for cheaper headphones it's a waste of money.

Yes.
I just use low latency (0) and bitperfect in sysctl.conf.

It's connected to t-400 poweramp which in turn drives a pair of Infinity EL-40 bass reflex speakers.
The sound on FreeBSD is really good.