System panic

This is interesting. Will try to keep in mind. Hopefully I solve this issue for now by scrubbing but yes crashing upon compiling earlier does make me still wonder if it could be a RAM issue.

Could also be the CPU mixing up a bit here and there. That's what mprime/prime95 tests.

Even if you clear the ZFS errors the question remains how it got corrupted in the first place.

I am not a zfs pro, but from the link I sent you, I have the impression that the 'clear' is required to reset the error stats.
Anyhow if it is just a Chrome directory, why not delete the whole directory and scrub/clear once after this?
Deleted the files that were showing up as permanent errors under scrub - then did zpool clear zroot.

Rebooted. Same panic error 😢, unable to reboot.

Will get some sleep now and try again on few other suggestions and report back.

Thanks everyone.

In my opinion you should not be chasing stale issues after scrub on files you most likely don't care as they are in tmp or are not important (chrome related).

If you are able to panic system without graphics driver that panic is what you need to be after. Show us what is the panic about.
Yes, passing memtest is not 100% assurance all is ok but it's always a good place to start. Other tests that stress the system are always a good idea. But here you can always reliably trigger a panic.
RAM is usually the best way to start. CPU is next. That's why I asked about the MCE errors in the syslog.

Could also be the CPU mixing up a bit here and there. That's what mprime/prime95 tests.

Even if you clear the ZFS errors the question remains how it got corrupted in the first place.
Ok so I installed mprime and trying stress testing with default options now (2 cores instead of 4 i believe - this machine is pretty old so I guess that should be reasonable? Was already having temp issues when overloaded). Just hoping CPU is running reasonably fine.

How long does this usually run?

And what should I do to test RAM?