localhost:631 printer problem (SOLVED)

About the hosts file: it is /etc/hosts. Often just things as man hosts resulting in hosts(5) give an answer. I have never tried that before. It is always a surprise how much stuff is documented.

About the cups server: It is often better to check if a service is running without having to handle additional pitfalls as browsers. netstat -a -n -p tcp should inform about a 127.0.0.1 listening at 631. There are so many tools on board. I think nobody knows all of them.

About the hosts file: it is /etc/hosts. Often just things as man hosts resulting in hosts(5) give an answer. I have never tried that before. It is always a surprise how much stuff is documented.

About the cups server: It is often better to check if a service is running without having to handle additional pitfalls as browsers. netstat -a -n -p tcp should inform about a 127.0.0.1 listening at 631. There are so many tools on board. I think nobody knows all of them.
That command gives;
tcp4 127.0.0.1.25 LISTEN
tcp4 127.0.0.1.631 LISTEN
tcp6 0::1.631 LISTEN
All 3 are shown as having foreign address *.*
cupsd is shown as 'starting' at bootup

Is there a similar command diagnostic to indicate why 631 will not open?

tcp4 127.0.0.1.631 LISTEN
This should be the cups daemon wating for requests. But you are right, it does not inform if it will respond to any request. One can open a port but do nothing. But this is very unlikely for the cups daemon on your system because the same cups daemon works on many oher installations,

I am trying to setup my new mono HP LaserJet Pro M404dn, having already downloaded pkg hplip 3.20.6
I am trying to open http://localhost:631/printers to enable cups but the address does not work.
Is it permanently down?
I have to ask the obvious. Is the machine you are running CUPS on the same as the one you're trying to use the address "localhost"?
Also, try using https not http.
What's your cups config file look like? Post it here, if you can.