I am new to BSD

Folks,
I want to say hello, and this is my first time using and trying a BSD system. I have 2 years of experience supporting Red Hat/Centos; however, I was hearing great things about FreeBSD and the community, so I wanted to try it out.

I would be grateful for any: insight, tips, books or other sources to learn BSD.

Thank you

Ah, fresh meat.

Seriously though. The FreeBSD Handbook and the website are quite good. The documentation is good. FreeBSD is a unix operating system, so your experience in Linux will mostly transfer over. However, we do not use systemd which CentOS and RedHat use. We use the init system. Some of the command line tools are a little different, but there is always man to help you out. And don't forget to check out the /usr/ports tree for additional software. You can use the pkg command to install pre-compiled versions from the ports tree.

Welcome welcome, and get yourself a decent little box and just go nuts on it. Install stuff, try to figure out why its not working, maybe a mistake you made, and so on. Then when you are stuck use this forum to ask questions, but remember you have to help us help you.