Which version to download/install?

Hello, newbie here (first foray into Linux land ;-)

Actually have 2 machines I'd like to try my hand with Linux/FreeBSD.
  1. Chaintech CT-6BTM MoBo, Intel 440BX/DX, PIII 450(Katami), 1G RAM (4x256), NVidia GeForce2 MX/MX400 AGP (64MB), RTL8139D NIC.
  2. Mercury KOB 694x TFSX MoBo, Via VT82C694x, Celeron 1.2M, 762MB RAM (3x256), NVidia GeForce2 MX/MX400 AGP (64MB), RTL8139C

One of them for music, DVD, on line news (have a couple of TV Tuner cards - might be neat to get one of those running ;-)

The other is for background music, downloads, burning discs and general PC "mule" work like 64-pass RAM scans, zero-writing HDDs... stuff that can take hours and I don't want to tie-up my main (3rd) machine.

Question: at the ftp there was a "current", "stable" and, among others, "i386" versions

I can burn an iso, just wondering which to download and try first.

thanks

p.s. also have a Promise FastTrak100 2/4x PCI/IDE controller; BIOS doesn't allow booting to RAID controller but, with 4 healthy WD BB-sries HDDs, in addition to a primary boot drive, a 4x RAID 0 might be kinda spiffy ;-)

celticbrooder said:
Hello, newbie here (first foray into Linux land ;-)

I urge you to take a step back, and read FreeBSD? So, what is it?, because that is about the worst possible first line you can post on a FreeBSD forum ... FreeBSD is not (a) Linux, it pre-dates Linux, and it has an entirely different architecture.

apologies... had checked several sites regarding "best" Linux "distro"(?) for beginners and my intents; looked like PCLinuxOS or Free BSD... guess I was mistaken... thanks anyways.

celticbrooder said:
apologies... had checked several sites regarding "best" Linux "distro"(?) for beginners and my intents; looked like PCLinuxOS or Free BSD... guess I was mistaken... thanks anyways.
Well, just because FreeBSD is not a GNU/Linux distro doesn't mean you can't try it! ;)

celticbrooder said: