What do you think about Google's WEI (Web Environment Integrity) initiative?

I'm not sure if this discussion is allowed here but I think that this subject is too important to be ignored, given the implications of it.

There is an article on Wikipedia about this: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Web_Environment_Integrity

And from what I have read, it seems like a very bad idea, it's basically a DRM for Internet. But I'm not an expert, so I thought to ask more knowledgeable persons about all of this. What do you think?

What do you think?
Assuming legitimate interests, it's a solution to a problem created needlessly by moving part of the application logic to the client (read, SPAs and such crap).

Well, let's all move to Darknet(s) now, Javascript isn't even an option there anyways for obvious privacy concerns 🤫

Underlying this discussion is a deep philosophical problem: How does each participant in a distributed protocol authenticate (validate the identity of) the other participant, given that identity is defined only as being part of a hard-to-define group?

Let me explain with an example. It is 1990, and a human user called "Tim" wants to look up some documentation that is stored on a computer. He uses the http protocol (which is not authenticated nor encrypted) to open a TCP/IP connection to host doc.cern.ch, retrieves one html-encoded page, and reads it. This transaction is based on a whole lot of implicit assumptions, which mostly are around trust: Tim trusts the network that it correctly resolves the hostname to a particular machine and port. He trusts that computer to serve him the correct document. Conversely, the server trusts Tim to really be himself: a human who is allowed to read that document, not a spy, not an evil hacker, not a computer process trying to scrape all the documentation to exfiltrate it (to SLAC or DESY, there is an in-joke in there).