vulkan nVidia FreeBSD12

Greetings,
I am new to running FreeBSD as a desktop and trying to stretch it's legs out. My system has FreeBSD12, nVidia 1080 card and driver from the ports which is 390.87_1. If it matters or not I have KDE Plasma. I installed the package for vkquake and looks to install properly, but when I run it I see a "Couldn't fund any Vulkan devices" error. I have seen reports that say Vulkan isn't support, and some say that it is. Could someone point me in the right direction?

Thanks!

Do you plan to create an “official” port from that

I don't plan submitting a port. Honestly, it's shouldn't take Nvidia more than a couple of hours of developer time to enable Vulkan in FreeBSD driver (and include 32-bit libs in amd64 package, those are missing as well). If we complain loudly enough they might actually do it.

I don't plan submitting a port. Honestly, it's shouldn't take Nvidia more than a couple of hours of developer time to enable Vulkan in FreeBSD driver (and include 32-bit libs in amd64 package, those are missing as well). If we complain loudly enough they might actually do it.
I'm afraid they won't do it. :(

I was afraid that was the answer. I downloaded Dolphin WII emulator, worked great with GL selected, no go with vulkan. I was tempted to download driver 415 from nVidia site, but I read those drivers should never be used.

I'm afraid they won't do it. :(

I possibly agree but do you have any sources / reasons for thinking this? Is this how NVIDIA is going to finally weasel their way out of supporting FreeBSD?

My timeline had it being around 3 years from now that NVIDIA will pull the FreeBSD plug but I guess if the world does move to Vulkan then it will possibly coincide with around then and this is how they will do it (by simply never updating to support the current industry standard and hoping the driver in general fizzles out quietly).