ZFS vbox zfs guest compact vdi

A friendly hello :

I've been searching in the FreeBSD forum and on global google and found no answer which makes sense to me ... I have to say that I'm not an expert when it come to ZFS or inodes

I have a couple vbox trueos guests with zfs

As a reference, for now I'm not using snapshots ... as I use the zfs based vbox guest trueos machines I assume that as file write / delete cycles progress there will be more inodes or so which hold deleted files and are not zeroed out ... in windows guests one would use sdelete to zero these deleted file remainders out and in linux one would use dd if=/dev/zero of=bigfile bs 4096 followed by a rm bigfile and all would be zeroed out
now the "VBoxManage modifyhd <name>.vdi --compact" command would do the vdi compact operation.

Since the zfs is a copy-on-write file system would this "dd zero operation" work and or is it necessary ... have found a few conflicting suggestions

What would need to be done to be sure that any deleted files-pace is being reclaimed with the vboxmanage compact operation

Many many thanks in advance

Cheers Klaus

If you're not using snapshots, deleted data is deleted. It isn't directly overwritten or immediately zeroed out, but it doesn't hang around forever.You don't have to think about it.

The reason you can't find information on how to deal with that is because it would be a serious design flaw. ;)

Thanks for the fast reply ;)

I have the following question to "It isn't directly overwritten or immediately zeroed out, but it doesn't hang around forever.You don't have to think about it."

In an environment like a ZFS in a vbox guest VDI file, how would this not "immediately zeroed out" disk portion be treated by a vboxmanager vdi file compact operation, would this portion be compacted out or still remain with the effect of resulting in a still larger vdi file as necessary after compacting.