Upgrading gnucash with portmaster

I have two 8.2 systems, one just installed. On the first system, gnucash 2.4.5 was installed, courtesy /usr/ports. On the second one, the one on which FreeBSD was just installed, there was no gnucash installed. On both, I did

portmaster /usr/ports/finance/gnucash

On both systems, I got an error when portmaster tried to build gtk-update-icon-cache-2.24.5. The complaint was that the package was already installed. If it was already installed, why did portmaster try to install it at all? Perhaps a broken port? I got the gnucash install going again by doing a pkg_delete -f gtk-update-icon-cache-2.24.5 and in doing so, got an error that not all files could be removed, and raising the question that the package manifest was not correct (I should have copied the error but didn't; sorry; but I've given you the gist of it).

One comment on FreeBSD 8.2: I've been a harsh critic of FreeBSD in the past. I've had bad experiences with a couple of 7.x releases (the USB layer prior to the re-write in 8.x was really awful) and with 8.0 (the new USB stuff hadn't settled down at that point). None were ready for prime time, at least for my type of desktop usage, forcing me back to Linux. But 8.2 is really rock-solid and I've got it installed in place of Linux on every one of my machines where it will run (I've got a lot of them, each one serving a useful purpose, though my wife would disagree). My only issue is that it doesn't support nearly as big a hardware repertoire as Linux (I've got an Atom-based Toshiba netbook and a mini-itx machine I built around an Intel D510 dual-core Atom motherboard and the Intel graphics driver doesn't work on those machines). Hopefully at least the Atom issue will change with the upcoming 9.0 release. I hope the quality of that release is as good or better than 8.2, which sets the bar pretty high.