I'm so confused now.
I was trying to upgrade from 14.4 to 14.5. Before the very end it's telling me I will have to download ALLLL of the packages and re-install all of them so they use the shared libraries that it's about to delete for the upgrade.
All the packages re-downloaded means a 4GBs download for me. But also which packages really need the new shared libraries? And how?
I canceled out of the download, and just finished the upgrade without upgrading all the packages. And then everything seems to be working just fine without re-installing all installed packages.
So the question is which packages really required re-installation and why? Everything seems to be working fine without that step. And if it is required, then what is going on? That's such a crazy thing to ask for a user when upgrading because some packages are custom compiled, so you don't want to download and install those (pkg lock them? and then compile manually?). Do all minor version upgrades requires this too?
I was trying to upgrade from 14.4 to 14.5. Before the very end it's telling me I will have to download ALLLL of the packages and re-install all of them so they use the shared libraries that it's about to delete for the upgrade.
All the packages re-downloaded means a 4GBs download for me. But also which packages really need the new shared libraries? And how?
I canceled out of the download, and just finished the upgrade without upgrading all the packages. And then everything seems to be working just fine without re-installing all installed packages.
So the question is which packages really required re-installation and why? Everything seems to be working fine without that step. And if it is required, then what is going on? That's such a crazy thing to ask for a user when upgrading because some packages are custom compiled, so you don't want to download and install those (pkg lock them? and then compile manually?). Do all minor version upgrades requires this too?