update openssl?

Hello,

Hope I'm posting this in the right section.

The current version of OpenSSL 0.9.8n I have installed on my system has a few security issues so I'm wondering what the best solution is to fix it.

From what I've been reading is that all base systems come installed with OpenSSL and updating the port and adding WITH_OPENSSL_PORT=yes to make.conf will probably break a lot of stuff.

So what's the best way to fix OpenSSL, patch it?

I'm using FreeBSD 8.0.

Thanks.

First one affects openssl 0.9.8f through 0.9.8m, 0.9.8n is unaffected.
Second one doesn't look like a security issue to me, but I'm no expert.

stevejones said:
Hello,
The current version of OpenSSL 0.9.8n I have installed on my system has a few security issues so I'm wondering what the best solution is to fix it.

I'm using FreeBSD 8.0.
How did you end up with 0.9.8n in base FreeBSD 8? The version in base seems to be 0.9.8k for both 8-STABLE and HEAD.

Code:
(0:27) host:/tmp# which openssl
/usr/bin/openssl
(0:28) host:/tmp# openssl version
OpenSSL 0.9.8k 25 Mar 2009

From what I've been reading is that all base systems come installed with OpenSSL and updating the port and adding WITH_OPENSSL_PORT=yes to make.conf will probably break a lot of stuff.
I've not encountered that problem. Unlike (for example) the BIND ports which have a REPLACE_BASE config option, it seems that the OPENSSL port installs a completely independent copy in /usr/local/... This means that the base system isn't using the port, but that other ports that use OpenSSL will pick up the version in ports. If you update the version in ports, you'll probably need to rebuild the dependent ports to have them pick up the new version.

Code:
(0:29) host:/tmp# /usr/local/bin/openssl version
OpenSSL 1.0.0 29 Mar 2010

I've had OpenSSL from ports (1.0) as a replacement for the base version (symlinked /usr/bin/openssl -> /usr/local/bin/openssl) for quite a while now, and I haven't seen any breakage associated with it.