Solved Unable to run startx

Hello.
I am a total newbie at FreeBSD. I installed FreeBSD 11.1, and followed the steps given at https://www.freebsd.org/doc/handbook/x11-wm.html

After running pkg install xfce as root (it installed, i think), I tried "startx" I got "command not found".
So I tried
% echo "exec /usr/local/bin/startxfce4 --with-ck-launch" > ~/.xinitrc
As a user of wheel group. It returned me the normal command prompt again. But startx gave me the same error again.
% echo "#!/bin/sh" > ~/.xsession gave me error "event not found".

I have an Intel core 2 duo processor (centrino, 2 GHz), 1GB RAM, 120GB HDD. I have windows 7 on one partition, Linux mint 7 on other, and freebsd on third. (I edited grub to have access to all three). The partition system is as follows:
Code:
FREEBSD (total 20GB)
-freebsd-ufs 2GB /
-freebsd-ufs 2GB /var
-freebsd-ufs 2GB /tmp
-freebsd-ufs 14GB /usr
I have the swap partition outside freebsd's nested partition.
How do I get the xfce started?

Last edited:
startx comes in a separate port / package:
Code:
root@kg-core1# pkg which `which startx`
/usr/local/bin/startx was installed by package xinit-1.3.4_1,1
perhaps the xinit port / package isn't installed?

Hello again.
I formatted the partition, and installed the freebsd again. The first thing I did was # pkg update then I did # pkg install xorg.
Before installing xfce, out of the curiosity, I ran # startfx. It gave me this screen:
pwaFIDy.jpg

after that I installed xfce using # pkg install xfce
after installing xfce, "startx" gave me the same screen. I was sort of expecting that, so I ran
% echo "exec /usr/local/bin/startxfce4 --with-ck-launch" > ~/.xinitrc