Unable to mount NFS share

balanga

Son of Beastie

Reaction score: 158
Messages: 3,377

I have create a local FreeBSD repository using a similar directory structure to that used by FreeBSD and have created an NFS share, but am unable to mount it. I guess the problem is due to the ':' character in the path...

This is what happens:
Code:
showmount -e 192.168.1.3
Exports list on 192.168.1.3:
/mnt/nas/backup                    Everyone
/mnt/nas/iocage/jails/test/root/usr/local/www/apache24/data/FreeBSD:12:amd64 Everyone

mount 192.168.1.3:/mnt/nas/iocage/jails/test/root/usr/local/www/apache24/data/FreeBSD:12:amd64/ /mnt/tmp
mount_nfs: 192.168.1.3:/mnt/nas/iocage/jails/test/root/usr/local/www/apache24/data/FreeBSD:12: Name does not resolve
Is there any way to get around this?
 

Zvoni

Member

Reaction score: 24
Messages: 68

I have create a local FreeBSD repository using a similar directory structure to that used by FreeBSD and have created an NFS share, but am unable to mount it. I guess the problem is due to the ':' character in the path...

This is what happens:
Code:
showmount -e 192.168.1.3
Exports list on 192.168.1.3:
/mnt/nas/backup                    Everyone
/mnt/nas/iocage/jails/test/root/usr/local/www/apache24/data/FreeBSD:12:amd64 Everyone

mount 192.168.1.3:/mnt/nas/iocage/jails/test/root/usr/local/www/apache24/data/FreeBSD:12:amd64/ /mnt/tmp
mount_nfs: 192.168.1.3:/mnt/nas/iocage/jails/test/root/usr/local/www/apache24/data/FreeBSD:12: Name does not resolve
Is there any way to get around this?
Put the offending path in quotes?
 
OP
B

balanga

Son of Beastie

Reaction score: 158
Messages: 3,377

Thanks for the suggestion but whatever I try I get

mount_nfs: 192.168.1.3:/mnt/nas/iocage/jails/test/root/usr/local/www/apache24/data/FreeBSD:12: Name does not resolve


I notice it does not display the last part of the path in the error msg - it should be /FreeBSD:12:amd64
 

SirDice

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator

Reaction score: 8,970
Messages: 33,430

mount 192.168.1.3:/mnt/nas/iocage/jails/test/root/usr/local/www/apache24/data/FreeBSD:12:amd64/ /mnt/tmp
If you look closely at the mount path you'll notice that the semicolon is used to separate the host from the path. The semicolons in the path cause confusion.

Try this: mount 192.168.1.3:"/mnt/nas/iocage/jails/test/root/usr/local/www/apache24/data/FreeBSD:12:amd64/" /mnt/tmp
 
OP
B

balanga

Son of Beastie

Reaction score: 158
Messages: 3,377

Thanks for the suggestion. I copied and pasted the above into a command line:-

Code:
root@Vbox:/mnt# mount 192.168.1.3:"/mnt/nas/iocage/jails/test/root/usr/local/www/apache24/data/FreeBSD:12:amd64/" /mnt/tmp
mount_nfs: 192.168.1.3:/mnt/nas/iocage/jails/test/root/usr/local/www/apache24/data/FreeBSD:12: Name does not resolve
 

SirDice

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator

Reaction score: 8,970
Messages: 33,430

I suggest you use a path that doesn't include colons.
 

Zvoni

Member

Reaction score: 24
Messages: 68

I suggest you use a path that doesn't include semicolons.
I think you mean "colons" = ":" not semicolons = ";"

I'm more surprised, that he could create those folders (on his NAS?) with colons in the name in the first place.
 
OP
B

balanga

Son of Beastie

Reaction score: 158
Messages: 3,377

I'm more surprised, that he could create those folders (on his NAS?) with colons in the name in the first place.
To be quite honest, I was too!

Code:
root@NAS[...test/root/usr/local/www/apache24/data]# pwd 
/mnt/nas/iocage/jails/test/root/usr/local/www/apache24/data
root@NAS[...test/root/usr/local/www/apache24/data]# ls -al
total 20
drwxr-xr-x  5 root  wheel   7 Mar 23 10:47 .
drwxr-xr-x  6 root  wheel   6 Feb 20 00:12 ..
drwxr-xr-x  2 root  wheel   3 Feb 20 00:12 adminer
drwxr-xr-x  3 root  wheel   3 Mar 21 20:32 FreeBSD:12:amd64
-rw-r--r--  1 www   www    45 Feb 20 00:12 index.html
-rw-r--r--  1 www   www    20 Feb 20 00:12 info.php
 

SirDice

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator

Reaction score: 8,970
Messages: 33,430

I think you mean "colons" = ":" not semicolons = ";"
Oh, oops. You're absolutely correct.

Both UFS and ZFS don't have problems with the colons in the name but NFS might.
 

Zvoni

Member

Reaction score: 24
Messages: 68

Hmmm, after reading a bit, and looking again at his error-message:
is it possible that the problem is the second (!) colon?
 
Top