Unable to get fcitx5, fcitx5-configtool, zh-fcitx5-rime to work properly :(

I have the following environment variables set in my .bash_profile as recommended by the package description:
export XMODIFIERS='@im=fcitx'
export GTK_IM_MODULE=fcitx/xim
export QT_IM_MODULE=fcitx

The fcitx5 is started through my .xinitrc file when I startx into xorg. 'ps' command also confirms that it's a running process. However...

Problem 1: fcitx5-configtool:

When I run fcitx5-configtool or fcitx5-config-qt, the gui application says:
fcitx5-1.png

I don't really understand why this is happening since fcitx5 is clearly running in the background. Initially I thought perhaps it might be dbus. Since I'm new to FreeBSD and this is my first install and I'm also using a WM and not a DE, I didn't add dbus_enable="YES" in my rc.conf as shown in the handbook for running gnome, kde, etc. So I added dbus_enable="YES", restarted but fcitx5-configtool is still saying fcitx5 is not running.

Now.... after clicking the [Run Fcitx5] button that was presented, the terminal shows fcitx5 loading its addons as well as a bunch of other messages, etc, but the fcitx5-configtool gui is completely blank (normally it should be showing all the current input methods, and the available input methods.
So at this point, I had to first click the Restore Defaults Button, followed by clicking the Reset button in order to get it to show what it was supposed to show at startup. The two pictures attached below shows what I described above:

fcitx5-2.png

fcitx5-3.png

So that's problem 1. I don't know why it's saying fcitx5 is not running when the process was already successfully running in the background via .xinitrc and startx. In addition, why is it not able to show the input methods UNTIL i restore defaults and reset? (it should just open the gui with these things presented to the user normally.)