Trying to port game to FreeBSD, need some assistance with CMake/ffmpeg

Hello all,

I'm very new to FreeBSD and would appreciate a little assistance on what I'm doing wrong here. I work on a game (https://github.com/itgmania/itgmania) which is very stable and well tested under Linux - I'm very familiar with getting it built on different Linux distributions. I'm trying to get it running on FreeBSD.

I have not found out why cmake is failing to find ffmpeg, which is in its expected location inside the build directory, when this kind of error has never been seen on Linux hosts.

Normally when building the game, ffmpeg (among others) is pulled in as a git submodule and used in building, but it's failing to find ffmpeg.

Other submodules are being pulled in and recognized but I'm not sure what is going on here.

Building supposed to be pretty simple; you can clone the project with git, enter the directory, run the following:
  • git submodule update --init --recursive
  • cmake -B build
  • and then cmake --build build and all should be working as expected.
Specifically, I'm using cmake -DCMAKE_C_COMPILER=/usr/local/bin/gcc -DCMAKE_CXX_COMPILER=/usr/local/bin/g++ -B build to ensure gcc is being used.

The problem is it's apparently failing to find ffmpeg, even if I point it to the directory manually:

Code:
CMake Error at src/CMakeLists.txt:462 (add_dependencies):
  The dependency target "ffmpeg" of target "ITGmania" does not exist.

I tried with:
  • the ffmpeg pulled in by git, located at ./extern/ffmpeg (what it should be using)
  • ffmpeg-6.1.1_6,1 from pkg
  • pointing cmake to the ffmpeg sources at /usr/ports/multimedia/ffmpeg

The relevant CMake code is as follows...

Code:
  add_dependencies("${SM_EXE_NAME}" "ffmpeg")
  list(APPEND SM_INCLUDE_DIRS "${SM_FFMPEG_INCLUDE}")
else()
  if(MSVC)
    list(APPEND SM_INCLUDE_DIRS "${SM_EXTERN_DIR}/ffmpeg-w32/include")
  else()
    add_dependencies("${SM_EXE_NAME}" "ffmpeg") <------- the line cmake fails at