Some keys of portable keyboard not responding

keyboard.png

I have been using this portable keyboard under Linux for 3-4 years now. Under FreeBSD all keys are working except the Vol +/- so I can't adjust the volume from a distance. Under Linux when I pressed the volume keys an OSD used to appear which I guess is a part of pulseaudio. Is there a way to make the volume buttons to work under FreeBSD ?

you can run xev in your desktop environment and observe if the keycodes are registered. If they are, well then it's only about assigning them to a command/script to raise/lower volume. In FreeBSD, by default we are using the OSS implementation and volume is controlled by mixer command. If you are using pulseaudio, then you'll have to consult the pulseaudio manpage.

A user on reddit told me about xev so I launched it using the terminal & then using the Run Application (ALT+F2) . In both cases a GUI Window appeared & no matter which key I pressed both on my portable keyboard or main keyboard there was no response. This is the xev window
xev.png

Added hw.usb.usbhid.enable=1 to /boot/loader.conf & did a full reboot but still the volume keys are not working.

Added hw.usb.usbhid.enable=1 to /boot/loader.conf & did a full reboot but still the volume keys are not working.
Try iichid. One thing, this keyboard have those proprietary usb dongles, right? Because if it's bt, maybe hw.usb.usbhid.enable=1 will not work for him.

How do I use iichid ? I am not that familiar with FreeBSD.
Can I use any of the rest of keys which are working as a substitute for the volume keys ?
I just want the ability to control the volume when I watching Youtube from a distance sitting on my bed.

Add this line to your rc.conf, (or add the modules if there's already a kld_list there):
Code:
kld_list="ig4 iicbus iichid"

or add the modules if there's already a kld_list there