Solved [SOLVED] Sound Equalizer Help Request

Good Morning All,

I am in the process of prepping my system to move from Arch Linux to FreeBSD. I have two needs that I don't see resolved in the ports tree, nor in any wiki /documentation I read. One is a FS driver posted elsewhere, and the other is a sound issue. Specifically: A sound Equalizer.

I am a USMC Veteran who had a mortar land right by my left ear, and as a result I need an equalizer in my sound config so I can use my headphones. My hearing aids turn off when I put on my headphones so using them is a no-go. I live in an apartment where my wife watches multimedia on her desktop, using only speakers and no headphone. So 98% of my sound has to go through my headphones if I have any chance of understanding what is being said through the audio device.

In my linux install, I have pulseaudio, which has a built-in equalizer. I can thus correct the sound to address my specific hearing loss. The issue is that pulseaudio in the ports tree is very old. It's at a 0.9.* level which does not include an equalizer. On linux, I am on the 4.04 pulseaudio release which does include the equalizer. So from the way I see it, pulseaudio is not an option for me in FreeBSD.

Alsa has a LADSPA plugin called "AlsaEquals", that provides a cruder, but effective sound equalizer. I do not see this alsa addon in the ports tree. From my reading FreeBSD uses neither pulse nor alsa by default. The /dev/dsp driver is in and of itself.

VLC and smplayer both have builtin sound equalizers in them...so watching movies and other stuff with equalized sound is a non-issue. Watching News or browsing YouTube (my version of TV) is an issue. As a result I am used to using a global sound equalizing scheme.

Can someone more experienced than I, point me to a how-to, or explain to me how to get this done in FreeBSD?

Thank You!

Sincerely and respectfully,

Dave

Re: Sound Equalizer Help Request