Solved [SOLVED] Request Specific Help Moving from Linux to FreeBSD

Good Morning All,

The OS I am asking for assistance on is FreeBSD 10.0 x64.

I am a very experienced Linux admin. Been using it since 2004 (Arch Linux). Although I admin a variety of Linux distro's and servers. My issue with Linux is that updates tend to break the systems way to often. This is costing me time (lost revenue) to constantly repair a Linux install because of flakey upgrades. And my main frustration is CentOS which is on the lion's share of my Servers. I did replace a customer's NAS with a FreeBSD based NAS and have had no issues with it across two upgrades. It's sole purpose is SMB shares.

I need something more robust than Linux for my clients....including my new client....I have come to the resolve that the solution is FreeBSD. Why FreeBSD? Because I've done my homework by speaking with others who use FreeBSD, discuss their experiences with FreeBSD, and have done enough reading on the FreeBSD site to make me need new glasses! The last person I spoke with was yesterday face to face at a cafe.

I have a project where I am replacing a small Colorado cities entire infrastructure to FreeBSD. I have dabbled off and on with FreeBSD, and have done a lot of reading...and have a testing install to a laptop for use for "experimentation" so I don't break a production laptop. I installed FreeBSD 10.0 x64.

I have resolved all issues save two. One is audio (posted in a different forum) and the other one: Reliably reading an ext4 partition.

My city project consists of providing infrastructure to a small city that currently has none. One of the cities trustees has Linux on their laptop on an ext4 partition, others have NTFS. I see the ntfs fuse driver....so NTFS is not a worry of mine. EXT4 is.