Screwed up dependencies for gnome-power-manager?

It has quite a lot of build dependencies. And no, it's not a simple tool. In any case, there's nothing FreeBSD specific about the build. If you have problems with it I suggest taking it up with the Gnome people.

SirDice said:
It has quite a lot of build dependencies. And no, it's not a simple tool. In any case, there's nothing FreeBSD specific about the build. If you have problems with it I suggest taking it up with the Gnome people.

It's not in packages only in ports. That's why I had to try to build it. I'm a humble programmer and I don't know system specific stuff, but even I begin to doubt that Gnome power manager requires SGML tools, DocBook and JadeTeX.

Check the dependencies mentioned in the Gnome project page it has only 3:

http://projects.gnome.org/gnome-power-manager/

The actual program only uses the HAL and ACPI functionality and is not really complicated.

I think this is FreeBSD specific probably because the port maintainer hasn't separated the documentation from the main program. Documentation shouldn't be necessary unless I specifically choose to install it.

harishankar said:
Check the dependencies mentioned in the Gnome project page it has only 3:
Plus all the other Gnome dependencies.

Try building it with only those 3 installed and see how far you get.

SirDice said:
And no, it's not a simple tool

SirDice is correct, *nothing* from gnome is ever "a simple tool" haha.

These guys just pack in dependencies for fun.

When compiling ports or packages, as soon as I see the string gnome-* I think to myself...

Myself said:
"Ooops Scotty, this isn't going to be as quick and easy as I first thought..."

And then I make a mad dash to the ^C before it begins to suck in the whole universe.

SirDice said:
Plus all the other Gnome dependencies.

Try building it with only those 3 installed and see how far you get.