Samba: missing umlauts in client

Thorny

Developer
Hello,

I have a Samba share, which has the following global char-set definition in smb.conf:
Code:
# Charset settings
display charset = cp1252
unix charset = utf-8
dos charset = cp866

Now I want to mount a share of the server with mount_smbfs. This works, but after mounting, all umlauts are missing in the output. For example:
Code:
#  mount_smbfs -I 192.168.23.225 -E utf-8:cp1252 //thorny@192.168.23.225/home /home/thorny/mount/home/

An ls -lah gives me this result:
Code:
drwxr-xr-x  1 thorny  thorny    16K  1 Jan  1970 .
drwxr-xr-x  9 thorny  thorny   512B  6 Dez 14:05 ..
-rwxr-xr-x  1 thorny  thorny     0B  6 Dez 14:12 t

At the server, I get this result:
Code:
-rwxr-xr-x  1 thorny  thorny     0B  6 Dez 14:12 täst.txt

My client locales are:
Code:
# locale
LANG=de_DE.UTF-8
LC_CTYPE="de_DE.UTF-8"
LC_COLLATE="de_DE.UTF-8"
LC_TIME="de_DE.UTF-8"
LC_NUMERIC="de_DE.UTF-8"
LC_MONETARY="de_DE.UTF-8"
LC_MESSAGES="de_DE.UTF-8"
LC_ALL=de_DE.UTF-8

My server locales are:
Code:
# locale 
LANG=de_DE.UTF-8
LC_CTYPE="de_DE.UTF-8"
LC_COLLATE="de_DE.UTF-8"
LC_TIME="de_DE.UTF-8"
LC_NUMERIC="de_DE.UTF-8"
LC_ALL=

I tried different charset combinations, but nothing worked. Now I believe that I have a big missunderstanding of the problem. Can anyone give me a hint?

Thanks for your time and help,
Thorny

Sorry, i didn't get the point. You say the console is not UTF-8 aware. Okay, but the server and the client are both FreeBSDs. Why could i see all umlauts at the server, but not at the client?
Also: if i mount from another FreeBSD, i get the following output:
Code:
-rwxr-xr-x  1 thorny  thorny     0B  6 Dez 14:12 t??st.txt

That is far better.

In the linked thread was posted, that it just doesn't work at the console, but all GUI-programms should work correctly. I testet it, but this isn't the case for me.

Any hints?

I already have:
Code:
LC_ALL=de_DE.UTF-8