"Run Your Own Mail Server" by M.W.Lucas

Hi,

I don't remember having read a word about this around here so I share the information, Michael W Lucas will release in August 2024 his next book called "Run Your Own Mail Server".
The kickstater campaign has been successful, it reached more than 10 times the primary objective, I am glad for him.
As a hobbyist, I am clearly not the target but I do not exclude giving it a go one day just to see how hard it is ^_^

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    76 KB · Views: 48
My use of mail for FreeBSD is simple. I have one server and I need to have each day reports from periodics(8). For that, I use the SMTP service of my ISP but...

One day they decided the origin domain needs to exist. Ok, that's fair.
Another day, they decided it must be a domain they own. I find this questionable.
Finally, recently, they decided that the sender must be one of the mail adress you registered with your account.

Each time without warn and each time, I have been obliged to modify several config files, not only in FreeBSD but also on other OSes that run as bhyve VMs... Not to speak the time needed to realize where the problem initially comes from.

To say it mildly, that sucks. What's next? Should I show my fingerprints or my passport to send a mail? I know well it's to fight against spam but, is there no others solutions?

This is why, a home mail server may not be useless for an amateur. That said, it's not a small business and I will do this only when I won't have other choice at all.

various orgs use various blacklists where your ip or block might get listed for whatever reason
then users will complain that they cant send to whatever domain
then users will try to send videos and multigb files and complain they are rejected (but it works for them at home or something)
if you run a vps then you can control (somewhat) your ptr record but if you have a static ip assigned by your isp you usually dont control it