Revert to fresh install over ssh?

Well I'm still pretty new to freebsd as told in ##freebsd on freenode, and from a friend. Theres a few ways to make my system like new.

Little background - tried to make webserver, couldn't get one control panel to work so I thought hell with it I'll try Cpanel since I already use it and it'd be a simple migration over if it worked.

Well it didn't, I'm running 7.1, not sure why it's not working but everythings broken and nothing fix's it. Anyways I hate cpanel, it's bulky, slow, and my clients don't use 95% of it's features.

I found out the panel I wanted to use with freebsd works fine, I shouldn't of installed it manually :stud I got it working on my 7.1 desktop, yay.

Anyways the server is all gunked up and cpanel install took near a half hour, imagin how much stuff it changed in the OS and such :(

So if anybody has a painless idea to get a like new system without sending my colo guy on a hour drive which he wont do for a few days anyways, leme know, greatly appreciated

I'm going to try to tinker around and get things like apache to work in the meantime but I'd really like to get this new panel on it works flawlessly :e

Edit: Reason I'm asking this is I'd need a sort of walk-through which my friend couldn't give me, would suck killing my server and having to wait a few days to get it back online >_>

cmanns said:
Anyways the server is all gunked up and cpanel install took near a half hour, imagin how much stuff it changed in the OS and such :(
It shouldn't. Ports never touch anything that's part of the base OS.

Have a look in /var/db/pkg/ you can find the names and versions of the ports/packages you've installed. Use pkg_delete to remove them.

That should at least give you a clean OS again.

Why did yo use 7.1 (yet unreleased version, only RC) for production server.
For production server you should have used 7.0, well, that's what I would do.