Replacing all disks in a RAID10-syle pool

I currently have four 4TB disks and an 80GB SSD which were configured in RAID10 (striped and mirrored) with the SSD as a cache device. This is the only pool on the server and contains root (it was configured with the FreeBSD 11.0-RELEASE installer with mostly default options). The pool name is data.

I'm running short on storage lately and so I'm looking at upgrading the whole set to 8TB disks. But before making my purchase I want to make sure I'm understanding this correctly. This is my first time replacing disks in a pool with higher capacity disks.

From what I can see in the Handbook, I need to do the following:
1.run zpool replace data ada1p3 ada2p3 (replacing ada1p3 with old disk and ada2p3 with new)
2. wait until resilvering is complete
3. run zpool online -e
4. repeat 1-3 for each disk until new disks are all in place

At this point everything should be good and I would have ~16TB of usable space instead of my original ~8TB. Is this correct? Or am I missing steps here?

Now, two questions that I'm having a hard time learning from the handbook.
1. The handbook seems to assume that the new disk and old disk will be active at the same time, but I don't have enough SATA slots for that so I need to pull the old disk before adding the new one. Should i just unplug the the old disk and plop the new one into place? Or is there some kind of prep that needs to be done on the disk first?

2. The handbook gives this example as something that has to be done after an operation like this: gpart bootcode -b /boot/pmbr -p /boot/gptzfsboot -i 1 ada1. However, I don't understand what needs to be done exactly. Do I just randomly select a disk in place of ada1? Do I give a pool name? Or what?

My zpool: https://paste.fedoraproject.org/513742/14828585/