Recommended storage space for a new UNIX user

Hello,

I'm interested in installing FreeBSD with the proper amount of allocated storage space for my intended use. I'm basically new to UNIX and want to learn the ins and outs; I want to program in C and learn the connection between C and UNIX firsthand. I want to see why UNIX is renowned for its networking abilities. I want to learn shell scripting and how to master using the terminal. I also think I'd like to use ports since that'll allow me to play around with source code before installing an application, which I imagine I'll be doing once I'm adept enough.

On my first attempt at installing, I allocated 3 GB of space and tried installing the "Developer" suite. I also included ports in the installation, which ultimately failed because I didn't have enough space (note: I allocated 1 GB to /usr and the rest was distributed according to a sample picture in the installation guide).

On my second attempt at installing, I again allocated 3 GB of space (I'm doing this through VMWare and I figured I'd start with a low disk size and ultimately add more space if I needed to, but apparently that requires downloading a VMWare developer's toolkit which seems like overkill for my purposes when I can just recreate the VM with more space). This time I picked the Developer suite again but with no ports. Interestingly, the last few writes (dealing with "stools" I believe) failed due to unavailable space, but the installation was still successful. Of course, I can't add to any files or create any new files, so this is still no good.