Ports upgrade question

(I'm fairly new to FreeBSD, but not to Unix in general. I've run AIX and Linux for years.)
I've been reading the Handbook sections on upgrades and such, and am not clear on best practices for upgrading the ports.

From what I read, I think there is only one choice about upgrading ports: Either upgrade or don't. That is, there is no "ports for FreeBSD 7" nor "ports if you're following -CURRENT or -STABLE" nor any other option. Is this true?

If it's not true, can you please point me at docs that explains the options.

If it IS true, then does this imply that any reasonable port will run on any reasonable version of FreeBSD? Or is the port expected to configure its installation so it DOES run on any FreeBSD version?

Also, I read somewhere (Handbook?) that any FreeBSD upgrade would like break all my ports, and they should be reinstalled. is this true? If so, why is that? Shouldn't ports be not so fragile?

Yes, I can see now that I should have posted this to the ports upgrade/maint forum, but I'm new here, and missed it.

tgphelps said:
From what I read, I think there is only one choice about upgrading ports: Either upgrade or don't. That is, there is no "ports for FreeBSD 7" nor "ports if you're following -CURRENT or -STABLE" nor any other option. Is this true?
Yes, there is just one branch for ports.

tgphelps said:
If it IS true, then does this imply that any reasonable port will run on any reasonable version of FreeBSD? Or is the port expected to configure its installation so it DOES run on any FreeBSD version?
No. I think that at this moment, ports are supported only for 6 and above.

tgphelps said:
Also, I read somewhere (Handbook?) that any FreeBSD upgrade would like break all my ports, and they should be reinstalled. is this true? If so, why is that? Shouldn't ports be not so fragile?
Probably what you read is that if you upgrade between FreeBSD major versions you have to reinstall all the ports.