Perl 5.26 and Synth

Hello-

I've been using Synth for three months now (after using portmaster forever) and I'm trying to rebuild ports that depend on Perl5 using synth. But am not getting anywhere. Clearly I do not understand the pkg system. After using synth to upgrade to perl5.26, I see that perl5.24 has been deinstalled. However, I am getting errors when running perl commands with foswiki:

Code:
Can't locate tools//../bin/setlib.cfg in Inc (Inc] contains: bin /usr/local/lib/perl5/site_perl/mach/5.26 /usr/local/lib/perl5/site_perl /usr/local/lib/perl5/5.26/mach /usr/local/lib/perl5/5.26) at tools/mailnotify line 36.
BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at tools/mailnotify line 37.

I also find that foswiki is unusable at the moment. I suspect that foswiki needs to be rebuilt with perl5.26 but am not sure how to accomplish this!

This is what I've tried to do:

updated /etc/make.conf and [/file]/usr/local/etc/synth/LiveSystem-make.conf[/file] with:
Code:
DEFAULT_VERSIONS+= perl5.26
Then:
Code:
# pkg set -o lang/perl5.24:lang/perl5.26
# synth upgrade-system
and it tells me there's nothing to build/rebuild.

When I used portmaster, I normally followed the portmaster version of updating found in /usr/ports/UPDATING and it worked 97% of the time.

I also tried:
# synth rebuild-repository

but that also didn't appear to rebuild the dependencies.

Hm? How do I rebuild with new dependencies using synth and/or pkg not only for foswiki but for all other ports that depend on perl5? Copy the output of pkg version to a file, deinstall all packages and reinstall using the same file?

~Doug

Last edited by a moderator:
i'm using portupgrade and i upgraded successful with it following entry 20161103 in /usr/ports/UPDATING

First, add to /etc/make.conf:

DEFAULT_VERSIONS+= perl5=5.26

portupgrade -o lang/perl5.26 -f lang/perl5.24
portupgrade -f `pkg shlib -qR libperl.so.5.24`