Package/Ports MITM, and Trust

I'm new to FreeBSD and want to use it in a professional capacity in a few different roles but I cant seem to wrap my mind around a few questions of trust.

Does FreeBSD have any protection against man-in-the-middle attacks or hacked mirrors for packages or ports? Should I only install off of the CDs if I don't trust the network between my servers and freebsd.org? Are there hashes for the other CDs that come from bsdmall besides disk one?

Also, should I really trust the ports tree unless I examine and understand the source for everything I install? Obviously that is the best solution, and a unique advantage for open source software, but I think it might take me a year or two to develop the skills required. I assume there has to be at least community oversight for community contributed software, but what are the concrete details? If I don't trust community ports of third party software, but must run them for functionality, what should I do? Run everything in its own jail? Should I be doing that anyway? Is learning how to port them myself the only answer? What solutions for the question of trust exist outside of the technological? Why is trusted computing such a joke? How can I stop the nightmares of servers rising up and killing all humans??

Honestly, any resources or discussions on the subject of trust, and how to deal with it as a sysadmin without going insane, would be greatly appreciated. I know it is impossible to be absolutely sure, but I don't know where the line between trusted and untrusted should be or how to determine where I am in relation to it.

I've read all of those and none of them talk about when and how much to trust the code you compile and run when you use FreeBSD, except the ports man page which answers my question on MITM attacks on port installations. Which says something about checksums? How are they used? Is there any protection from MITM on the checksums themselves when you update your ports tree?